Valetta Maastricht

Young economists’ essay awards 

The EARIE Conference is aiming to encourage and foster young researchers in Industrial Economics, and the Young Economists’ Essay Awards (YEEA) support that aim by recognizing innovative, impressive work that is likely to have an impact. The awards are sponsored by Elsevier Publishers.


The criteria for the YEEA are that the author (or all authors of a multiple-authored paper) must be under 35 years old and have completed his or her PhD less than five years ago. Each year one of the YEEAs recognises work with a policy contribution and is dedicated to the late Paul Geroski. This year is the 12th time that EARIE bestows this award in Paul Geroski’s memory.


More than 100 submissions were eligible for the award and were considered by a committee consisting of Volker Nocke (UCLA, Chair), Xavier Vives (IESE), John Sutton (LSE), Michelle Sovinsky (U Mannheim) and Alessandro Gavazza (LSE). The three YEEA winners were announced during the Conference Dinner.


Award winners:

Danial Asmat - U.S. Department of Justice

Matteo Benetton - London School of Economics

Marcel Preuss - University of Mannheim


06-09-2017: You can download your Certificate of Attendance in your conference registration account. Please click here.


11-08-2017: Please click here for the programme.


29-06-2017: Airport transfers (click) can now be booked at delegates' own cost.


12-05-2017: It is now possible to register for the conference. Please click here.


10-03-2017: It is now possible to book your official conference hotel. Hotels in Maastricht are limited and subject to availability. Please click here.

Important dates

Submission system opens 1 February 2017

Submission system closes 22 March 2017

Acceptance notification 15 May 2017

Early registration 15 June 2017

Conference secretariat

Klinkhamer Group | meeting services

Maastricht, the Netherlands


T: +31 (0)43-36 27 008